Skotholmen before and now
Through centuries, everything has centered around fishing and fishermen at Skotholmen, fishing business and general store, boat associations and heading out to the fishing fields.
From the middle of the 1600s, the islet was a smallholding. In 1770 the islet
is first mentioned as a trade post. Into the 1800s, the trade was run by Christoffer M. Rønneberg, and in 1847 he built the boathouse where restaurant Kami Skotholmen is now situated.
Skotholmen was afforded trade privilege in 1595 when Anders Monsen Scott rented the farm, Sævik, which at the time was owned by Norway’s wealthiest man, landowner Eirik Rosenkrantz. From the middle of the 1600s, the islet was a smallholding.
Lieutenant Jens Schelderup was in possession of Skotholmen into the 1700s. In 1770, the islet is mentioned as a trade post, and farmhand Lars, who was there during the “springtime fishing having purchased some fish products.”
Christoffer M. Rønneberg took hand of Skotholmen in 1832, after Ole Fjelde from Tjørvåg, who was doing trade here during the winter and spring when cod fishing was busy. Christoffer M. Rønneberg ran Skotholmen until 1863 and he had several houses built on the islet. In 1847 he built the boathouse where you find KAMI Skotholmen today. He was also Herøy’s first mayor and was a descendant from Christoffer Tjærandsen Rønneberg who made it big as a tradesman in Sunnmøre, and who at that time was the wealthiest man in Sunnmøre.
After the Rønneberg era at Skotholmen, Albert Larsen Bakke took charge of operations, and eventually Olaf Evanger from 1921 onwards. Evanger expanded with various houses, trading house, smokehouse and a new wharfage. Mrs. Evanger created a beautiful garden at Skotholmen and was known for her Christmas parties where she invited families from Sævik.
In 1937, the brothers Adolf, Gerhard and Joakim Remøy purchased Skotholmen. They salted herring on the islet and laid down a water pipe, and eventually electricity was provided for via air lines from Sævik. During the war, Skotholmen was known as a transit harbour for weapon deliveries from England. Gerhard Remøy was a key figure in this work and also his children. Alfred Remøy was onboard the submarine chaser Vigra, a vessel that took part in several weapon deliveries to Skotholmen in the latter part of WW2.
IIn 2009, a small group of idealists bought Skotholmen from Erling and Atle Remøy who owned the islet from 1996. The company Skotholmen AS was established in 2009 and Erling Remøy joined the new owners Nils Roger Paulsen, Ole Jonny Hjelmeset, Anne-Ma Solheim and Arthur Almestad. The vision of Skotholmen AS has stood firm since the start: Skotholmen is going to be an attraction attached to locally sourced seafood, spectacular nature and a rich trade post history. Skotholmen is a voyage worth doing.
After a few years of collective voluntary effort and consumption of its share capital, several new owners joined forces in 2014. These owners shared the vision in creating a unique place for food adventures at Skotholmen. On the 1st July 2016, we opened our doors for the first few guests. The ownership company of Skotholmen AS, works in agreement with KAMI Skotholmen AS, who are responsible for the day-to-day operations with restaurant evenings and various events and parties. Magnus Bergseth is the chef of KAMI Skotholmen and he leads a team of emerging and talented cooks, waiters and waitresses.
The owners of Skotholmen AS are continuously working on developing the islet further as a unique adventure product, and in the future, we hope to allow for overnight stays on the islet.